Then and Now

Then and Now

Then

Then

Then, June 14, 1969 I became a bride and my title would change to “wife”. Now, will soon be June 14, 2014. I have been blessed, with a wonderful husband who chose me to spend the rest of my life with him.

As a child I dreamed of becoming a wife and a mother. I wasn’t sure that would happen for me so I made sure that I completed an education in the Dental Profession as a Registered Dental Assistant.

As an infant I was stricken with poliomyelitis, a very contagious disease. From 1948 to 1953 the disease crippled 250,000 children each year. There was no vaccine to protect me from the virus when I became very ill at seven months old. My young parents took me to St, Mary’s Hospital, in Rochester, Minnesota on October 1, 1948. That would become my home for the next 14 months. Fortunately, my sister 2 ½ years older, did not become affected by the virus. In many families several children would be stricken. The vaccine became available to children and adults in 1953. After many years of corrective surgery to help with my mobility, I was finally brace and crutch free as a sophomore in high school. For the next 20 years I would complete my professional training, fall in love, become a wife and be blessed to mother three wonderful children.

Now, 45 years later, I am happy to say that I have successfully accomplished far more than I ever dreamed in 1969. Those child hood days are simply a memory. My journey has been blessed with a wonderful family who I could care for. Post- Polio Syndrome as caused me to slow down considerably. The use of a brace, crutches and cane are back to help with my mobility. My Memoir, “All The Steps I Have Taken” was published by Inspiring Voices in August 2012. In May the World Health Organization issued a medical emergency against polio. In 1988 Rotary International set out to make sure all countries had the vaccine. They were down to three countries and India was celebrated “Polio Free” this year. The battle is still going and we must “End Polio Now” so more children will not live challenged as I have. My days are filled with spending time with eight grandchildren, enjoying working for my church, going to grandchildren events, Love watching the Minnesota TWINS and playing games, sewing and camping. God has been so good to me by providing a positive attitude that takes me on a blessed journey every day. The best part is I can spend them with my wonderful husband, Nolan. “Happy Anniversary”Now

 

 

One thought on “Then and Now

Leave a Reply

